nitial Incident

About Us

The Safety, Health and Environment National Authority (SHENA) was established following the enactment of the Safety, Health and Environment National Authority Order, 2018 which was signed by His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan on the 6 October 2018.


SHENA is the national Authority responsible for regulating the workplace safety and health, environment and radiation matters. The three Orders that are under the purview of SHENA include the Workplace Safety and Health Order, 2009 (WSHO, 2009), the Environmental Protection and Management Order, 2016 (EPMO, 2016) and the Radiation Protection Order,  2018 (RPO, 2018).

SHENA is headed by a Chief Executive Officer (CEO) who is ultimately accountable for all activities undertaken by the Authority. CEO reports directly to the Authoirty who then reports to the Minister of Energy as the Minister in Charge.


SHENA's Inspectors have specific legal powers to enforce and regulate workplace safety and health, environment and radiation laws on behalf of SHENA.

SHENA's functional structure is divided into three areas:

  1. Industry Sector
  2. Specialist Support Function
  3. Corporate Support Function

The Industry Sector comprises:

  • Major Accident Hazard (MAH) sector
  • Industry Sector
  • Non-Industry Sector

The Specialist Support Function comprises:

  • Radiation Department
  • Technical Support Unit

The Corporate Support Function comprises: 

  • Human Resources Division
  • Legal Division
  • Finance Division


The Industry Sector (MAH, Industry and Non-Industry) and Radiation Department comprise multi-level inspectors i.e. Chief Inspector as a lead, Senior Inspectors, Inspectors, Junior Inspectors and Trainee Inspectors. These inspectors are warranted under the relevant Orders (WSHO, EPMO, RPO). When fully operational, SHENA would have 50 inspectors to enforce the relevant safety, health, environmental and radiation legislation.


SHENA's office is located at level 4, Design & Technology Building, Simpang 32-37, Anggerek Desa, Negara Brunei Darussalam.